Home > Apple, digital, I-Phone, innovation, library, technology, Uncategorized > I-Phone could be I-Find

I-Phone could be I-Find

Apple I-PhoneAfter seeing some images and reading an article about the new I-Phone, I started wondering how hard it would be to create a catalog searching program that could be hosted on a portable phone.

Granted the interface wouldn’t be able to handle a large amount of hypermedia, but it could provide locational direction to someone in need of assistance. It could even be possible for someone to ask a reference question via mobil phone in the same manner.

Then again thinking about the amazing amount of options the product should be able to do, will our users be able to find time for study.

Link to original article:

http://www.engadget.com/2007/01/09/the-apple-iphone/

  1. hoodrow
    03/16/2007 at 12:47 pm

    Hey John,

    Actually there are libraries promoting use of mobile phones for quick catalog searches…I can’t remember where, but I’ll take a look around the web. Also, there are a few libraries using sms text messaging as a medium for reference services. Check out http://librarianinblack.typepad.com/librarianinblack/2005/11/text_a_libraria.html

    Dan

  2. 03/16/2007 at 1:06 pm

    In my unpublished study of virtual reference services used in academic libraries, I did encounter a number of libraries using some sort of text based reference. There are a few IM clients which can text from the normal interface. I am still thinking about the possibilities for virtual reference that includes a video feed for at least the librarian.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

