Home > blogging, librarian, libraries, library, Library 2.0, library science, technology, Web 2.0 > Hello, my name is John and I am a library blogger…

Hello, my name is John and I am a library blogger…

Blog Block

I apologize for the lack of expedient posting, but with holidays and a busy schedule some things get postponed. Alas, I post this for posting’s sake.

After a string of interesting track backs and mentions, I have once again found myself fascinated with the phenomenon of the “blog.” When I started this blog I merely wanted a place for my thoughts and observations to be heard. I didn’t know exactly where that would lead, but I found myself trying hard not to just talk about what was happening in my office, but what was happening to libraries and library science. The responses I have heard have been encouraging and stimulating.

For someone new to the field or eve n a crafty veteran looking for a new venue, a blog could offer a much needed outlet for their thoughts. Whether one talks about what is happening in their immediate library surroundings or whether one tackles the larger issues facing our profession, is entirely up to the author and should justly drive the format of the blog. I personally am less than thrilled to come across a blog which contains nothing more than just a link to a site or a headline about something tenuously pertaining to libraries. Simply pasting and posting links is the equivalent of a scholarly paper composed of nothing more than a cut out images and a list of {refer to “Article A”…}

The bloggers which I have come to admire offer a bit of their own voice into that which they publish. This may seem less than scholarly but to me a blog is a way to communicate with your audience, in a way that requires little more than a moment of their time. Then the next question then becomes, ” How do I reach my audience?” Frankly I think we would all like to have that answer delivered to our door, but the truth of the matter is gaining ground takes time, persistence, and clever linking. This own site gets nearly as many hits for “antelope” as it does for “library science.” The easiest way of getting a few more hits is to link to a more popular blog or site, which in turn may then link back to you.

There are other uses for blogs of course. Many libraries have created project specific blogs to act as their voice to the public and administrators. Still others have created blogs which act as extra support to their programs and learning tools. There are now blogs containing lists of other blogs. In time I am sure there will be a blog listing blogs indexing blogs. Though that may seem maddening to some, it is fascinating to me when I muse on how users create their own methods for organizing and finding the information they create.

I would urge you to look at the list of librarian bloggers that I have listed. There are many more to be found and several tools worth looking at to do so. The most recent to earn my favor is the Attensa software tool, which incorporates nicely into Outlook. Being the email app of choice for the campus I am attached to, I wanted to keep things as neat and tidy as possible. This tool allows me to browse RSS alerts in the same manner as my regular mail, and even lets me write blog posts as if there were an email message. Granted I probably never would use that for myself as I find I like to make sure everything looks kosher before I post.

After just coming back from an excellent discussion on Web 2.0, featuring Cliff Landis as the keynote speaker, I am anxious to explore how things are changing before our eyes. If you have a chance check out Cliff’s blog and in the meantime I will be looking into what new developments make me raise a quizzical eyebrow.

  1. RaiulBaztepo
    03/28/2009 at 4:01 pm

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  2. 04/07/2009 at 5:33 pm

    Hello !🙂
    I am Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Your Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

  3. 04/09/2009 at 8:17 am

    Piter,

    I thank you for your appreciation. I am hoping to post more, but my new position doesn’t often leave me much time for posting. I will be giving it my best effort.

    John

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

