Myspace with Scrabulous?

ketchup

From BBC.com, Myspace opens doors to developers.

Trying to capitalize on the success of the Facebook applications trend, Myspace has proclaimed an interest in exploring how applications could be integrated into their software.   With nearly 3 times the amount of registered users than Facebook, Myspace could well turn a healthy amount of advertising toward the third party developers in question.

I think this could be an interesting step forward but wonder how these new apps will be seamlessly integrated into the cacophony that many Myspace profiles exist within.  In my opinion there is something about Facebook that appears much more refined and clean, whereas Myspace has a bit more of a wild west atmosphere about it.

Regardless this opens up doors for putting services where the users already are.  I wonder how far we can take library services in order to exist within this realm?

  1. Amy W.
    10/19/2007 at 8:18 am

    I would think that a better step for Myspace to take would be to first address their own issues, before they open it up to new developers. I don’t go to Myspace very often, for the reason that it’s a pain to log in – probably 50% of the time I try there’s something wrong with the interface and I can’t get in.

    I really like the “clean” appearance of Facebook. In many ways Myspace allows people to whatever they want to their pages, people without any knowledge of design or usability. So I have concerns that any further modifications are just going to break it permanently.

  2. 10/19/2007 at 8:55 am

    Amy,
    You read my mind on that one. The top three things I hate about Myspace are:

    1. The annoying, and often abrasive, design layouts people “find” online.
    2. Continuous friend requests from bands, “models,” and just plain creepy profiles.
    3. Profiles that look more like a political poster wall in Italy or a city street in Tokyo. Can’t someone tell them that the ability to put five kinds of video embeds, eighteen slideshows, six music players, their “Zwinky,” and a GIF of Britney Spears eating a hamburger- doesn’t grant them the right to assault my screen if I happen upon their profile.

    The only reason I still have a Myspace account is for the handful of friends I want to keep up with, social networking wise, who aren’t on Facebook. Maybe they can blend them together and call it “Facespace” or “MyBook.”

  1. 10/25/2007 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

