Home > aesthetics, books, digital, digital libraries, digitization, technology > CNN Video on new Digital Book Reader

CNN Video on new Digital Book Reader

http://www.cnn.com/video/#/video/tech/2008/09/03/green.ebooks.itn

Though this isn’t a new concept, or a terribly insightful video, I was inspired to re-examine just what books meant to me.  In the video, the presenter seemed to equate books with extremely cumbersome, dust-gathering, out-dated tomes.  The truth is that analog books have an aesthetic all their own.

As I ride to work, it may be easier to pull out an Ereader or Kindle and browse through hundreds of selections, but I feel I might miss the sensation of just turning a page.  The way that the type situates itself on the page can be an interesting exploration.  Nevermind the wonderful sound of a well worn hardcover closing.

This is not to say that I am not intrigued by digital readers, I am; in fact I would love to be a guinea pig for any company looking to get feedback from a librarian.  (Shameless plugging for goods there.)  I am curious as to how my reading habits would change from traditional books to the change in container a digital reader would provide.  I am equally curious as to how library users in an academic setting feel about electronic books.  I hope to get some answers in a future study, but for now will feel content with the dusty 5 million volumes that I walk through everyday.

  1. 09/03/2008 at 9:17 am

    Sometimes I wonder if people buying these gadgets are serious readers or just geeks with one eye on the latest bright, shiny toy. I’ll read any sort of book–hardcover, tattered paperback, anything I can get my hands on. I have 5 or 6,000 books…and a ten year old computer. You can see where my priorities lie…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

