Home > google, Web 2.0 > Google Chrome is shiny

Google Chrome is shiny

Google has just released their first foray into the internet browser race with their product called Google Chrome. Though my first hand experience has only been for a few short hours, I am already impressed by what they have built.

Chrome features easy tabbed browsing, but bumps it up a notch by dynamically showing you sites that you frequently visit when opening a new tab.  The tabs themselves are easy to move around, pop out from the browser into a new window, and won’t crash the entire application if one tab goes kaput.  Chrome has instant bookmarking options as well as application shortcuts.  It features secure browsing and the newest hot topic for future IE releases, incognito mode.  (I am instantly reminded of the Simpsons reference to Guy Incognito.)

I suppose this may be a bit annoying to non-technology nerds and systems administrators, but there is something nice about seamless interoperability in a secure and stable browser.  I am anxious to see how people react and what types of hurdles Chrome must leap before it is featured amongst the big names in web browsing.

  1. 09/03/2008 at 1:18 pm

    i’m willing to try it out just to see if it works more efficiently than FireFox… if it’s faster than Firefox and isn’t IE, then i’ll use it

  2. 09/03/2008 at 4:13 pm

    I have seen some comments about some security , ToS, and Flash issues; but I have yet to see anything actively wrong with Chrome. Fingers crossed.

  3. 09/03/2008 at 4:47 pm

    John,

    I’ve been pleased with what I’ve seen so far. Chrome’s interface is very clean and I’m enjoying it. But I’ve run into some issues with pages and not supporting it (yet). Since it is a Google product, I would think support will follow shortly.

    I like my Firefox plugins, but I’m enjoying Chrome’s speed and tabbed crash control.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

